College Faculty Honors (2011)

Dean’s Quarterly Report, March 15, 2011

Patrick Allitt, Cahoon Family Professor of American History, had his book The Conservatives: Ideas and Personalities Throughout American History designated an Outstanding Academic Title by Choice.

Lawrence Barsalou, Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Psychology, Michelle Lampl, Samuel Candler Dobbs Professor of Anthropology, and David Lynn, Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Chemistry and Biology, have been selected as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Chris Beck, biology, and Scott Stewart, music, have won the College’s Winship Award for Senior Lecturers, providing a semester’s leave with a professional expense budget.

Sybil Bridges, senior accountant in anthropology, has earned the designation Certified Research Administrator (CRA), one of only 1438 nationwide.

David Eltis, Robert W. Woodruff Professor of History, has won the American Publishers Association prize and R.R. Hawkins Award for his Atlas of the Transatlantic Slave Trade.

Kristin Mann, professor and chair of history, has been awarded an ACLS International and Area Studies Fellowship for 2011-12.

Dan Reiter, professor and chair of political science, had his book How Wars End designated an Outstanding Academic Title by Choice.

Lori Teague, associate professor of dance, had her work “miles to the left” chosen for the closing gala concert at the Southeastern American College Dance Festival Association conference at Florida State University in March.

Elizabeth Wilson, professor of women’s studies, will be a fellow at the Radclifffe Institute for Advanced Study for the academic year 2011-12.

Yanna Yannakakis, assistant professor of history, has been awarded an ACLS fellowship for 2011-12.

* * *

Emory has been named by Princeton Review a “2011 Best Value College” among private schools and by Kiplinger’s Personal Finance a “Best Value” among private universities.

Emory University and Emory Healthcare were jointly cited as #4 among large employers in the Atlanta Business Chronicle’s “Atlanta’s Healthiest Employers” contest.

* * *

Dean’s Quarterly Report, May 2011

Angelika Bammer, associate professor in the Institute for the Liberal Arts, Patricia Brennan, professor of psychology, and Matthew Weinschenk, senior lecturer in chemistry, have received the 2011 Emory Williams Teaching Award, the University’s highest award for teaching.

Patricia Bauer, Asa Griggs Candler Professor of Psychology, has been appointed editor of Monographs of the Society for Research in Child Development.

Paul Courtright, professor of religion, was awarded a research fellowship from the Lewis Walpole Library.

David Eltis, Robert W. Woodruff Professor of History, has received the 2011 Anisfield-Wolf Book Prize in non-fiction for Atlas of the Transatlantic Slave Trade.

Cathryn Johnson, professor of sociology, has been awarded this year’s George P. Cuttino Award for Excellence in Mentoring.

Dennis Liotta, professor of chemistry, has won the 2011 Thomas Jefferson Award, recognizing service to the University.

Deborah Lipstadt, Dorot Professor of Modern Jewish History and Holocaust Studies, received an honorary degree from Jewish Theological Seminary and will address the U.S. Holocaust Museum annual dinner meeting, along with Elie Wiesel.

David Lynn, professor and chair of chemistry, has won Emory’s 2011 University Scholar/Teacher Award.

Esfandiar Maasoumi, Arts & Sciences Distinguished Professor of Economics, has been elected a fellow of the American Statistical Association.

Kate Ross Nickerson, associate professor in the Institute for the Liberal Arts, is the winner—along with novelist P.D. James—of the 2011 George N. Dove Award for contributions to the serious study of mystery and crime fiction.

Benjamin Reiss, professor and director of graduate studies in English, has been awarded a National Endowment for the Humanities summer stipend.

Tom Rogers, assistant professor of history, was awarded the Agricultural History Society’s Henry A. Wallace prize for his book The Deepest Wounds: A Labor and Environmental History of Sugar in Northeast Brazil.

Scott Lilienfeld, professor of psychology, won honorable mention in the psychology category of the American Publishers’ Awards for Scholarly and Professional Excellence for the book 50 Great Myths of Popular Psychology.

Judith Rohrer, associate professor and chair of art history, was elected a corresponding member of the Royal Catalan Academy of Fine Arts of Saint George.

Joseph Skibell, associate professor of creative writing, won the Sami Rohr Choice Award and was runner-up for the Rohr Prize for Jewish Literature.

Bonna Wescoat, associate professor of art history, has won this year’s Distinguished Advising Award.

Tao Zha, professor of economics, was elected a research associate in the Monetary Economics program at the National Bureau of Economics Research.

The University has received the first-ever LEED Showcase Award for Innovation in Business from the Atlanta Business Chronicle for Evans and Few Halls, which recently earned LEED Gold certification—the 6th and 7th Emory buildings to do so.

* * *

Dean’s Quarterly Report, December 19, 2011

Aaron Abrams and Skip Garibaldi, math & computer science, received the 2011 Lester R. Ford Award from the Mathematical Association of America.

Eugene Agichtein, math & computer science, shared the Best Paper Award at this year’s Association for Computing Machinery conference on information retrieval.

Frances Smith Foster, English, received the Joseph B. and Toby Gittler Prize from Brandeis University for outstanding scholarly contributions.

Lawrence Jackson, English and African American Studies, was awarded the William Sanders Scarborough Prize by the Modern Language Association for his book The Indignant Generation.

Deborah Lipstadt, Jewish studies, received a Jewish Cultural Achievement Award from the Foundation for Jewish Culture for outstanding scholarship.

Elissa Marder, French & Italian, was named a Distinguished International Fellow at the London Graduate School.

Sally Radell, dance, was recognized by the International Association of Dance Medicine and Science as an expert on the use of mirrors in training dancers.

Holloway Sparks, women’s, gender and sexuality studies, won the Betty Nesvold Women and Politics Award for best paper on women and politics from the Western Political Science Association.

Sharon Strocchia, history, was appointed to the advisory board of The Medici Archive Project.

Leslie Taylor, theater studies and dance, won a 2011 Suzi Bass award for best scenic design and was nominated for best costume design.

Suresh Venapally, math & computer science, was elected a fellow of the Indian National Science Academy, the only mathematician to be elected this year.

Eric Weeks, physics, was elected a fellow of the American Physical Society.

Sally Wolff-King, English, will be a William J. Clinton Distinguished Lecturer at the Clinton School of Public Service in spring 2012.

Carol Worthman, anthropology, has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Kevin Young, creative writing, was selected “Best Local Poet” by Creative Loafing magazine.

Garrett Turner 11C became the third consecutive, and 15th overall, College winner of the prestigious Marshall Scholarship providing two years of graduate study in the United Kingdom.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s